Technical Standards Committee


The mission of the Technical Standards Committee (TSC) is to promote technical excellence and improve Bitcoin SV (BSV) utility by enhancing interoperability, through standardisation.

We bring people together, facilitating industry participation in the development of global standards, ensuring technical standards are maintained and freely available.


The TSC is an international committee with 11 members representing nine countries and diverse sectors of the Bitcoin SV ecosystem.

Jimmy Nguyen

Founding President, Bitcoin Association


Technology history has repeatedly demonstrated the value of seeking consensus on technical standards, to fuel industry growth through compatibility and interoperability between different businesses. Bitcoin Association (BA) has formed the Bitcoin SV Technical Standards Committee as part of its effort to professionalise the development of Bitcoin to support major enterprise use and facilitate global adoption.

The technical programme provides access to a process, tooling, guidance and resources for industry use by participants who, in response to a perceived need, wish to come together to standardise ways that applications built on top of Bitcoin SV can interoperate. It is designed to promote growth of the Bitcoin SV ecosystem, interoperability between systems, and enhance credibility of solutions built on Bitcoin SV, from the perspective of Auditors, Regulators, Insurers, and Clients. It encourages the development of certification schemes, fosters business growth and infers market signalling from proposals and has international reach.

The TSC and the technical standards programme act as facilitators by focusing on governance of the standards process, and not as an authoritative body. Substantial work for recommending standards will be carried out by industry workgroups for each of the different technical areas, meaning that there will be many opportunities for participation from the wider Bitcoin SV ecosystem.


The initial Committee members are listed below. They represent four continents, seven countries and diverse sectors of the Bitcoin SV ecosystem, including wallets, mining, applications, token solutions, venture investment and banking.

Steve Shadders Committee Chair CTO nChain
Steve Shadders
Committee Chair
CEO, Zettium AG
James Belding
CEO, Tokenized
Angus Brown Centbee
Angus Brown
Co-founder & CEO, Centbee
Alex Fauvel Founder & General Partner, Two Hop Ventures
Alex Fauvel
Founder & General Partner, Two Hop Ventures
Masumi Hamahira MUFG Bank
Masumi Hamahira
Executive Advisor for the Islamic Banking Window, MUFG Bank
Jake Jones
Justin Laue Chief Scentist and Founder Bitboss
Justin Laue
Chief Scentist and Founder, Bitboss
James McLeod CTO, The Hopper
James McLeod
CTO, The Hopper
Michaella Pettit
Senior Researcher, nChain AG
Kip Twitchell
Executive Director,
Lin Zheming
Co-founder & CEO, Mempool, DotWallet